John Martin's Charity
Educational Grants
John Martin's Charity makes education grants to people who live in the town of Evesham. Students aged 16 to State Pension age can apply for a grant towards HND, degree, postgraduate, Open University or part-time vocational courses; for 2026-27 the HND/degree window closes at 1pm on 31 October 2026, distance learning on 31 March 2027 and part-time vocational courses on 30 June 2027. Children aged 4 to 18 can also get up to £300 towards school trips, music, arts and sport (income-assessed), and 'Standard of Excellence' awards for county-level achievement or above.
- You could get
- Amount not specified
- no fixed round
- Deadline
- Rolling
- apply any time
- Effort
- Moderate
- full application with documents
Who can apply
- Individuals who are permanent residents of the town of Evesham or, if living away from home during term time, keep a residential address in the town; documents proving residency are required and applications are not considered without them
- Student grants: age as at 1 September 2026 of 18 to State Pension age (16 for part-time vocational courses); applicants aged 25 and over at the start of the course are subject to a full financial assessment
- Category A and D grants are limited to four years in total
- Miscellaneous and Standards of Excellence grants are for children aged 4 to 18 resident in Evesham; miscellaneous grants are income-assessed (by household size and housing costs), excellence awards are not
What it funds
- Category A: HND, degree or postgraduate courses at a university or college, full or part time (Level 4 HNC only if it qualifies for Student Finance); age 18 to State Pension age; closes 1pm 31 October 2026
- Category C: part-time vocational or educational courses below degree level, including modern apprenticeships and day release, running for 3 terms or equivalent (at least 60 hours over an academic year); age 16 to State Pension age; closes 1pm 30 June 2027
- Category D: vocational courses towards an Open University degree or a degree-level distance learning course; age 18 to State Pension age; closes 1pm 31 March 2027
- Miscellaneous Education Grants of up to £300 for students aged 4-18: school and club trips, music lessons or instrument hire, sporting activities (one music/sport/club grant per child per academic year, plus one educational trip per child per school)
- 'Standards of Excellence' Awards for students aged 4-18 who have achieved a representative honour or coaching/performance selection at county level or above in sport, arts or music (one per child in any 12 months; not means-tested)
What it will not fund
- Full-time courses below HND/degree level
- Recreational courses (Category C)
- Late student grant applications ('will not be considered under any circumstances')
- More than one student grant per academic year
How to apply
- Student grants: create an account on the charity's grant application website (johnmartins.benefactorcloud.co.uk) and complete the online form
- Upload your supporting documents, including proof of Evesham residency
- Submit before 1pm on the closing date for your category; you receive a numbered receipt and updates through the site's secure messages
- The charity sends a Confirmation of Attendance form, which must be signed and stamped by your university or college and returned (Category A by 1pm 15 March 2027; Categories C and D within eight weeks of issue)
- Miscellaneous and Standards of Excellence grants: apply through the online forms linked from the Application Forms page; an eligibility calculator is on the website
paper forms are available from the charity's office if you cannot apply online. The grant level for 2026-27 student grants will be set in November 2026 once the main window has closed.
Have ready
- Proof of residency showing your name and Evesham address, from different sources (e.g. letters from the student loan company, university or college, bank or building society statements, credit card statements, or other official documents dated within the timescale on the form); copies are acceptable
- Confirmation of Attendance form signed and officially stamped by the university or college (after applying)
- Evidence of the achievement (Standards of Excellence awards)
applicants aged 25 and over also go through a full financial assessment.
More like this
Other grants open to organisations like yours.
- Pendle Borough CouncilAffordable Warmth Grant (Pendle)Amount not specifiedRolling
- Mid Suffolk District CouncilLiving Well in Winter GrantUp to £2,00035 days left
- London Borough of MertonDisabled Facilities Grant (Merton)Up to £30,000Rolling
- Medway CouncilPartners for Growth (PFG) grant schemeUp to £2,000Rolling
- Medway CouncilMedway Lottery Community FundUp to £500Rolling
- Malvern Hills District CouncilMalvern Hills Growth Fund£500 – £15,000Rolling