Ministry of Justice
Reading for Redemption: Comparative Research of the Brazilian Reading for Remission Model
A single £15,000 grant for a UK university, recognised research organisation or academic partnership to research Brazil's Reading for Remission model and how it could inform Reading for Redemption, HMPPS's reading-based prison education intervention, in England and Wales. The work ends in an evidence-based policy paper for HMPPS, with activity starting in autumn 2026 and a final report due by April 2028. It will not consider sentence reduction. Paid in advance from the MoJ Spend to Save Innovation Fund.
- You could get
- £5,000 – £15,000
- Deadline
- 35 days left
- 22 November
- Effort
- Moderate
- full application with documents
Who can apply
- UK Higher Education Institutions, recognised research organisations, and academic partnerships led by an eligible institution
- Applicants must demonstrate experience of delivering comparable educational, rehabilitation or research programmes; appropriate governance and safeguarding arrangements; capacity to deliver high-quality research, evidence synthesis and policy analysis; and ability to deliver monitoring and evaluation requirements
- Any organisation must show it meets HMPPS due diligence requirements before an award is made
What it funds
Aim: a comparative research project examining the Brazilian Reading for Remission model and exploring whether elements could inform future Reading for Redemption policy development in England and Wales:
- Scoping exercise of international and domestic evidence relating to reading-based interventions, prison education and rehabilitation approaches
- Comparative review of the Brazilian Reading for Remission model, prison education approaches in England and Wales, and other relevant international education and rehabilitation programmes
- Stakeholder engagement and expert consultation
- Comparative assessment against Reading for Redemption, including emerging learning from Reading for Redemption activity across Durham and up to three additional pilot sites
- Analysis of applicability within HMPPS
- Identifying effective education strategies for engaging people in prison who are less likely to engage with existing provision
- Recommendations for future implementation, and an evidence-based policy paper setting out findings and recommendations for HMPPS
the research will not consider sentence reduction; it focuses on progression frameworks, rehabilitation pathways and future policy development
gathering data from HMPPS requires National Research Committee (NRC) approval
one grant award of £15,000, paid in advance after due diligence and a signed Grant Funding Agreement; delivery from autumn 2026 through January 2028, end of year report by April 2028
What it will not fund
- Core services which HMPPS should be delivering
- Costs of preparing and submitting the application (ineligible expenditure)
How to apply
- Complete all questions in the Apply for a Grant application form via the Find a Grant listing, keeping within each word count (text beyond the limit is not evaluated; no diagrams, tables or images)
- Send any clarification questions to prison_education@Justice.gov.uk; answers are added to the advert
- Submit by 11:59pm on 22 November 2026
applications must average at least 3 out of 5 across the technical questions; the grant goes to the compliant, eligible applicant with the highest technical score
due diligence and fraud risk checks are done before award
More like this
Other grants open to organisations like yours.
- Sir Halley Stewart TrustSir Halley Stewart Trust grants£5,000 – £60,000131 days left
- Culham St Gabriel's TrustReligion & Worldviews Home Educators' FundUp to £1,00058 days left
- Swansea CouncilSchool Essentials Grant (Swansea)£125 – £200225 days left
- Charity of Robert PhillipsCharity of Robert Phillips grants for arts, drama and music£600 – £2,00026 days left
- John Bristow and Thomas Mason TrustJohn Bristow and Thomas Mason Trust: grants for organisationsAmount not specified18 days left
- John Bristow and Thomas Mason TrustJohn Bristow and Thomas Mason Trust: personal grants for higher educationAmount not specified18 days left